After hearing a great sermon last Sunday, my husband told me that I needed to share what I told him this week. This story concerns our 5 year old daughter, Hannah and God. I love how God uses my everyday in every way to teach me more of Him. 

Here goes: 

Hannah is a girl who doesn’t take no for an answer. She may appear quiet but underneath the quiet demeanour, she is incredibly determined. She is not afraid to ask for what she wants. She says what she thinks. She asks for what she wants and if it’s appropriate and she’s asked nicely, she usually gets it! (More on that in a bit). She is BOLD. She climbs on my lap and asks for kisses and hugs. She is comfortable to ask. (Side note: This is quite a shock to us as parents as our two older girls are so quiet and do not always ask and say what they feel.We are working on this!!)  

This asking, this pursuing, this boldness…..it reminds me of how God wants my relationship to be with Him. He wants me to ask Him. He wants me to seek Him. He wants me to boldly approach Him and claim His promises. 

The Bible says in Matthew 7:7,8

‘Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.’ 

It goes on to say in Matthew 7:9-11

‘Which of you, if your son asks for bread will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish will give him a snake? If you then …….know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more with your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!’

I love those pictures! Can you imagine giving your child a snake when they want fish fingers?! Or a stone when they want a sandwich??!! As a parent I want to give all of my children good things. I want to bless them and help them. I want to be there for them. I want to give them what they need. (However, they may not always get what they want!!)

And that’s what God wants to give us too. He knows what we need and He wants us to ask him. He wants us to get to know him better; spend more time with him and pursue him BOLDLY. 

Hannah’s boldness has reminded me to boldly ask God. Not to be shy and timid but to ask and receive. It also reminded me of the great song ‘Boldy I approach..’ by the Rend Collective based on Hebrews 4:15 ‘Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.’

I love it and recommend a listen! 

What do you want to ask God for today? 

Be confident. He asks us to boldly approach Him. 

Ruth xxx

